Laurens County and Cherokee Speedways host Touring Series Next Week

Dale Wilkerson                                               June 2011

Next week, fans of Dirt Super Late Models racing will have the chance to see two touring events at Upstate tracks as Laurens County Speedway and Cherokee Speedway hosts the Ultimate Dirt Super Late Model Series and the Lucas Oil Dirt Super Late Model Series respectively.
The Ultimate Series will compete in the 31st Annual Laurens County Shrine Race on Tuesday June 14th. All regular divisions or racing will be on the card with the $3,000 to win Shrine Race for the Super Late Models.
Casey Roberts is the defending champion and he is in the middle of a heated points battle with current leader Chris Ferguson and Chip Brindle. These three drivers are only separated by a mere eight points.
Though only one driver can take home the trophy and the title of winner on this night; everyone in attendance will go home as winners as the funds raised will benefit the Shriner’s Hospitals for Crippled and Burn Children.
Then on Friday June 17th, the Lucas Oil Series takes center stage at Cherokee Speedway for the 13th Annual Grassy Smith Memorial Race.
It has been a long three months since March Madness and Super Late Model fans are very excited about this event.
Freddy Smith, the son of the late Grassy Smith, has scored four wins in this event. Other Grassy Smith Memorial Race winners include Rick Eckert, Dan Schlieper, Dennis Franklin, Chris Madden, and the 2010 winner Jonathan Davenport.
The winner of the 2011 race will pocket $10,000, and when you flash that kind of money in front of a pack of lead-footed drivers, the fans are bound to see a great race. Support classes for this event include Limited Sportsman, Crate Sportsman, and Stock Four.
For more information about both events visit for the 31st Annual Laurens County Shrine Race and for the Lucas Oil Super Late Models points standings and drivers list for the 13th Grassy Smith Memorial Race.